Full Calendar

All events at Flagg Road Church unless stated otherwise.

Flagg Road Church – 134 Flagg Road, West Hartford

Rabbi Andrea-Cohen Kiener leads Shabbat Services.

Full Schedule

DateEventDetails
Thursday, August 17, 2023ELUL DISCUSSION7:30 PM on Zoom. A Sharing of teachings and practices to prepare for the High Holy Days. RSVP for a Zoom link: elaine.shapiro7 (at) gmail.com
Saturday, September 9, 2023SHABBAT10:00 AM Shabbat Service followed by a Pescetarian (vegetarian and Kosher style fish) Potluck Lunch.
Friday, September 15, 2023ROSH HASHANAH EVEErev (Evening) Rosh Hashanah Service at the Church
We'll Gather at 6:15 and start Promptly at 6:30PM
Kiddish and Dinner at The Silverstein's, following the service. Registration/RSVP required
Saturday, September 16, 2023ROSH HASHANAH 1st DAYFirst Day of Rosh Hashanah
9:30-9:50 AM Quiet Meditation
10 AM – 1:30-ish Shaharit (morning), Torah, and Shofar services
Followed by Kiddush (challah, apples, honey, schmoozing) outdoors
Sunday, September 17, 2023ROSH HASHANAH 2nd DAYSecond Day of Rosh Hashanah
10 AM - 1 PM* A Reflective Walk and Talk, led by Vicki Carmona
A beautiful walk, followed by discussion and sharing on Rosh Hashanah themes. Tashlich ritual (casting away our mistakes).
Meet at the main parking lot of the reservoir on Farmington Ave in West Hartford with comfortable shoes, water, a blanket or other portable seat, and snacks or lunch (as you wish).
* The discussion will begin at 11:30, not too far from parking, to accommodate as many as possible
** weather permitting; steady rain cancels.
Sunday, September 24, 2023KOL NIDREYom Kippur: Kol Nidre
We'll Gather at 6:15 and start Promptly at 6:30PM
Monday, September 25, 2023YOM KIPPURYom Kippur
9:30-9:50 AM Quiet Meditation
10 AM – 2 PM-ish Shaharit (morning), Torah, and Yizkor (memorial)
It is a powerful experience to both begin and end the day in community prayer, so we invite you to return for the closing services.
4-5 PM Prayer in Motion
5-6 PM Jonah, the sleeping prophet, and Minhah
6 PM - Sundown Neilah: Sealing the Day
Followed by potluck Break-fast
Sunday, October 1, 2023
SUKKOT4 PM. Celebrate Sukkot at Elaine and Larry’s sukkah
Singing, discussion, pot luck dinner.
RSVP elaine.shapiro7 (at) gmail.com
Saturday, October 7, 2023SHABBAT10:00 AM Shabbat Service followed by a Pescetarian (vegetarian and Kosher style fish) Potluck Lunch.
Saturday Oct 21, 2023TBA
Saturday, November 4, 2023SHABBAT10:00 AM Shabbat Service followed by a Pescetarian (vegetarian and Kosher style fish) Potluck Lunch.
Saturday, November 18, 2023TORAH STUDY4:00 PM: Discuss Weekly Torah portion on Zoom
Saturday, December 2, 2023SHABBAT10:00 AM Shabbat Service followed by a Pescetarian (vegetarian and Kosher style fish) Potluck Lunch.
Sunday, December 10, 2023CHANUKAH5 PM Candlelighting, Singing, Discussion, Pot luck dinner
Place TBA
Saturday, January 6, 2024SHABBAT10:00 AM Shabbat Service followed by a Pescetarian (vegetarian and Kosher style fish) Potluck Lunch.
Saturday, January 20, 2024Tu B'Shevat5:00 PM Singing, Discussion, Fruits of the Trees
Place TBA
Saturday, February 3, 2024SHABBAT10:00 AM Shabbat Service followed by a Pescetarian (vegetarian and Kosher style fish) Potluck Lunch.
Saturday, February 17, 2024TORAH STUDY4:00 PM: Discuss Weekly Torah portion on Zoom
Saturday, March 2, 2024SHABBAT10:00 AM Shabbat Service followed by a Pescetarian (vegetarian and Kosher style fish) Potluck Lunch.
Saturday, March 23, 2024PURIM7:00 PM Purim Join the fun playing around with the story of Esther. Our custom is to have groups, families or individuals sign up to tell a chapter or more of the Purim story.
Saturday, April 6, 2024SHABBAT10:00 AM Shabbat Service followed by a Pescetarian (vegetarian and Kosher style fish) Potluck Lunch.
Saturday, April 20, 2024PASSOVER Discussion4:00 PM: Zoom discussion to prepare for the holiday
Saturday, May 4, 2024SHABBAT10:00 AM Shabbat Service followed by a Pescetarian (vegetarian and Kosher style fish) Potluck Lunch.
Saturday, May 25, 2024LAG B'OMER7:00 PM Singing around a fire, weather permitting
Saturday, June 1, 2024SHABBAT10:00 AM Shabbat Service followed by a Pescetarian (vegetarian and Kosher style fish) Potluck Lunch.
Tuesday, June 11, 2024SHAVUOT STUDYProgram and Location TBD